CAAAPP Panels at the Pacific APA

The APA’s Committee on Asian and Asian-American Philosophers and Philosophies is sponsoring the following panels at the Pacific APA this coming week:

Wednesday Afternoon, 1:00–4:00 p.m.
APA Committee Session: Multicultural Philosophy and Transformative Experience
Chair: Adrian Currie (University of Cambridge)
Speakers: Nilanjan Das (New York University Shanghai)
“Transformative Speech”
Meena Krishnamurthy (University of Michigan)
“White Ignorance and How to Overcome It”
Julianne Chung (University of Louisville)
“Wuwei as Transformative Experience”
Commentator: L. A. Paul (University of North Carolina at Chapel

Saturday Morning, 9:00 a.m.–Noon
APA Committee Session: Book Symposium: Nalini Bhushan and Jay Garfield, Minds without Fear
Arranged by the APA Committee on Asian and Asian-American Philosophers and Philosophies
Chair: Prasanta S. Bandyopadhyay (Montana State
Speakers: Saranindranath Tagore (National University of
Vrinda Dalmiya (University of Hawaii at Manoa)
Ankur Barua (University of Cambridge)
Commentators: Nalini Bhushan (Smith College)
Jay L. Garfield (Smith College and Harvard

We are also co-sponsoring the following:        

  • APA Committee Session: Doing Philosophy with a Disability
  • APA Committee Session: Justice in the Aftermath of Injustice: The Limits of Liberalism for People of Color
  • APA Committee Session: Philosophical Outreach: The Face and Space of Philosophy
  • Society for Women in Philosophy, Topic: Transfeminisms

In addition, I will appear in a Teaching panel, speaking on fostering wisdom in the classroom, using a curriculum based on the Analects, the Dhammapada (plus early sutras), and the Meditations of Marcus Aurelius:

Thursday Morning, 9:00 a.m.–Noon
APA Committee Session: Teaching the Intellectual Virtues
The AAPT-APA Teaching Hub. Co-sponsored by the APA Committee on the Teaching of Philosophy, the APA Committee on Pre-College Instruction in Philosophy and, the American Association of Philosophy Teachers, the APA Committee on Philosophy in Two-Year Colleges, and the Philosophy Learning and Teaching Organization.
Chair: Mark Jensen (United States Air Force Academy)
Speakers: Brian Bruya (Eastern Michigan University)
“Fostering Wisdom in the Classroom”
Ruth Boeker (University College Dublin)
“Learning How to Critique Respectfully”
Noell Birondo (Wichita State University)
“Fostering Virtuous Inquiry: Ownership and Other
Intellectual Virtues”
Kirsten Welch (Western Michigan University)
“Teaching Intellectual Humility: Refuting Relativism
and Experiencing Aporia”
Vadim Keyser (California State University, Fresno)
“Teaching Analytical Navigation”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.