Warp, Weft, and Way

Chinese and Comparative Philosophy 中國哲學與比較哲學

Distant from his son

This topic contains 4 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  Bill Haines 1 week, 3 days ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

Bill Haines

Long ago when I was an undergrad, a fellow undergrad who was from Korea told me that a traditional Korean gentleman would not speak to his sons until they reached a certain age (8? puberty? I forget).

I haven’t found any other reference to such a practice.

I’m curious as to whether anything in Chinese (or Korean) Confucian texts would suggest such a practice. (Aside from Analects 16.13, which doesn’t go very far in that direction.)

#133885 Reply

Andrew Lambert

Bill,
    You might take a look at Mencius 4A18, where Gongsun Chou asks Mencius why mean of virtue do not teach their sons. Mencius’ reply hints at some limitations in the way fathers and sons are expected to interact.

#133887 Reply

Bill Haines

Thanks Andrew! That passage harmonizes in a way with Analects 16.13 in suggesting distance in specific connection with professional training, but I wonder whether that connects with the alleged Korean practice.

4A18 seems to value a close personal relationship between father and son, and avoiding occasions for offense. I suppose a mutual understanding that the reason for not speaking would be one way to try to avoid occasions for offense, but I wonder if a young child would be capable of sharing that understanding. And I think both passages may be contemplating a son who is already past 8 or puberty or whatever.

https://books.google.com/books?id=zorp1TNnI8UC&pg=PT68&lpg=PT68&dq=%22the+ancients+instructed+each+other%27s+sons%22&source=bl&ots=mQ7-2zTRo2&sig=qRKfDfJz0F8-k2RPXxgRlpCh7ic&hl=en&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwiY1K2IgaLUAhXH6iYKHc8SCjcQ6AEILDAB#v=onepage&q=%22hurt%20the%20feelings%22%20estranged&f=false