Warp, Weft, and Way

Chinese and Comparative Philosophy 中國哲學與比較哲學

ISCP Panels at Pacific APA 2015

Here are the two ISCP panels to take place at the 2015 Pacific APA:

International Society for Chinese Philosophy APA Pacific, 2015


Panel one: (three hour slot on Saturday)

Issues in Chinese Philosophy: Interpretation, Argument, Methodology and Reflection

Chair: Sydney Morrow
University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
js99@hawaii.edu

Speakers:

“Figuring it Out: Image, Creativity, and Meaning in Wang Bi’s Hermeneutics”

Joel LeBel University of Hawaii at Manoa

lebelj@hawaii.edu

“A Confucian Slippery Slope Argument”
Michael Harrington
Duquesne University
harringtonm@duq.edu

“The Way of Awareness: Reflections on Daoist Philosophy”

James Giles University of Guam

shobogenzo@hotmail.com

“Naturalism and Moral Expertise in the Zhuangzi”
Christopher C. Kirby
Eastern Washington University
CKIRBY@ewu.edu

“Confucius and Peirce on Inquiry and Belief”
Mathew A. Foust
Central Connecticut State University
foust@ccsu.edu

“Sima Guang and Machiavelli: A History Lesson”
Billy Dean Goehring
University of Oregon
billyg@uoregon.edu

Commentators:
Ian M. Sullivan
University of Hawai’i at Mānoa
ian2@hawaii.edu


Panel Two: ( Three hour slot Friday night )

“Author-meets-critics” on Chenyang Li’s Confucian philosophy of Harmony

Chair  Jiyuan Yu
University at Buffalo, SUNY

Critics:
Stephen Angle
Wesleyan University
sangle@wesleyan.edu

Robin R Wang
Loyola Marymount University
rwang@lmu.edu

Jiyuan Yu
University at Buffalo, SUNY
jyyu@buffalo.edu

Kam Por Yu
Hong Kong Polytechnic University
kam.por.yu@polyu.edu.hk

Respondent:
Chenyang Li
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore CYLI@ntu.edu.sg

October 4th, 2014 Posted by | American Philosophical Association, Chinese philosophy - 中國哲學 - 中国哲学, Comparative philosophy, Organization News | no comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *