This Is the Way: Index Locorum

Index of Historical Passages (Index Locorum)

Most episodes have one or two “featured passages” from historical Chinese texts. Some regular instructors of Chinese philosophy have asked us to create an index organized by text and passage number, so that they can easily find and assign specific episodes on specific passages.

For ease of reference, we will list texts by author (actual or legendary) in alphabetical order, followed by the name of the text.

– Justin and Richard

Confucius (Kongzi), Analects

2.3 Guiding the People with Virtue, not Coercive Punishments: Episode 2: Shame (January 31, 2024)

2.4 “The Spiritual Autobiography”: Episode 5: Cultivation and the Autobiography of Confucius (June 2, 2024)

6.30 “The Golden Rule for Sages”: Episode 7: The Golden Rule and Empathy (forthcoming)

13.18 “Upright Gong”: Episode 6: Partiality and Justice (July 5, 2024)

15.24 “The Classic Golden Rule Passage”: Episode 8: The Golden Rule and Empathy (forthcoming)

Mencius (Mengzi), Mengzi

1A7 “The King and the Ox”: Episode 10: Reflection and Extension (forthcoming)

2A6 The Child at the Well: Episode 9: Moral Sprouts (forthcoming)

Zhang Zai, “The Western Inscription”

Some thematic reference to the entire work: Episode 3: Oneness (February 20, 2024)

Zhuangzi (Zhuang Zhou), Zhuangzi

Chapter 2, The Monkey Trainer (Walking Two Roads): Episode 1: Daoist Detachment (January 31, 2024)

Chapter 3, “The Butcher” (“Cook Ding”): Episode 7: The Butcher (forthcoming)

Chapter 4, Yan Hui Proposes a Conversion Mission to Confucius: Episode 4: Daoist persuasion (March 11, 2024)